Exercise 2: Blog examination

Review of popular library blogs:
In the Library with a Lead Pipe incorporates an intriguing blog personality, multiple bloggers, and well-researched posts. While the posts are on topics that are interesting and pertinent, the can be very lengthy. However, the twice-monthly frequency may justify the post length. The Distant Librarian includes some book reviews along with good technological posts. The posts are short, and it is nice to have the perspective of a Canadian librarian. Librarian by Day points readers to pertinent news stories and online tools to help libraries step into the new technological age. David Lee King’s blog seems more focused on technology as it applies to all businesses, only focusing on libraries at times. However, the posts are short, informative, and always applicable to libraries even if not mentioned explicitly. The Librarian’s Commute is my personal favorite of these five blogs; it’s small and feels homey. The blog gives insight into (what feels like) life as a librarian in a small library, and I enjoy the feeling of being in the blogger’s shoes.

The types of blog posts I find most interesting are those that provide links to other things related to the topic and are not too long. I’ve found that a lot of posts on In the Library with a Lead Pipe, while interesting and well-written, are just too long to hold my attention for too long. Being new to the life of an avid blog reader, I still don’t want to spend too much of my life staring at a screen and not contributing anything to my life or my community. In terms of overall blog characteristics, I prefer blogs that have a sleek, uncluttered look while still providing me with useful “about” and other permanent links. A blog with a theme can be fun, too, like the Librarian in Black.

I chose Tame the Web, librarian.net, and the Librarian in Black as my three extra blogs. I have a great interest in library blogs with a technological bend and those that spark my curiosity:
-Tame the Web posts about “libraries, technology, and people.” Micheal Stephens blogs about different technologies and their application to libraries and news pertaining to that subject. The posts are short, and many are posts of videos or re-posts of articles or news. However, I do think that the blog suffers a bit from a lack of personality or the essential “storytelling” aspect of blogging. Also, the look of the blog can be a little cluttered.
-librarian.net posts helpful and interesting links for librarians. While there is no specific focus (other than libraries), the posts are short, informative, and do not require the level of attention and knowledge that Tame the Web does. The interface is simple and easily navigated.
-The Librarian in Black has an interesting theme and a personality that distinguishes it from other blogs. There is good information about the effects of technology on libraries without assuming a high level of technological knowledge from the reader. While the posts are infrequent, they are short, informative, and creative.

I believe that a successful library blog incorporates both personality and valuable information and links. There should be a good balance between long and short posts, technological and fun posts, and professional and personal posts. Successful blogs make the reader feel informed and personally involved in the librarian community without being overwhelmed by too many posts or too long posts.

One thought on “Exercise 2: Blog examination

  1. I agree – the Librarian's Commute was my favorite, too. I really enjoyed the homey feeling to her blog and she brought a lot of personality into her posts, which I liked compared to the other, more impersonal, blogs in that list.

Leave a Reply

